Circulars

Requirements for vessels carrying livestock


30/06/2016 - 2:00 | Author: Proinde

In the wake of an accident occurred in October 2015 in the river port of Vila do Conde in the State of Pará, North Region of Brazil, when the Lebanese-flagged livestock carrier HAIDAR capsized resulting in the death of most of the 5,000 heads of cattle that had just been loaded for Venezuela and release of fuel oil into the river, on 23 June 2016, the Brazilian Navy’s Directorate of Ports and Coasts (DPC) issued Ordinance No. 194/DPC introducing additional requirements for the berthing and operation of vessels carrying livestock.

The Ordinance became effective on same day of its publication and provides for berthing permission of livestock carriers to be granted under two conditions:

1. Presentation of P&I insurance policy or a declaration from the P&I insurer that the vessel is entered and has specific cover for “wreck removal” and “pollution by livestock cargo” risks; and

2. Successfully passing an inspection by the Port State Control to verify the vessel’s material conditions

Download the complete document here

Back to list

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20009-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337-1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br