Circulars

New bunkering requirements in the Port of Santos


20/07/2016 - 3:25 | Author: Proinde

Most of the pollution incidents recorded at Santos in the last decade occurred during bunkering with the vessel moored alongside.

Bunkering operations are generally governed by the IMO’s MARPOL 73/78 through Annexes I and VI and specific procedures are reflected in the company’s safety management system (SMS) devised in accordance with the International Safety Management Code (ISM Code).

The procedures for the transfer of oil between vessels within Brazilian ports, in particular, are dealt with under NORMAM-08/DPC (Procedures for Transferring Oil Between Vessels) and, subsidiarily, regulated by the local port authority which is also responsible for setting out specific procedures for prevention of pollution during oil transfers between vessels and from shore facilities to vessels.

The port authority of Santos, Codesp , has recently issued Resolution 126.2016, which introduced two significant changes in the current bunkering procedures, in addition to those already set forth by NORMAM-08/DPC.

Download the complete circular here

Back to list

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20009-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337-1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br