Circulars

New regulation on wood packaging material


29/01/2016 - 12:00 | Author: Proinde

The Brazilian Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Supply (MAPA) issued a new regulation through Normative Instruction No. 32 of 23 September 2015, known as IN 32/2015, that will come into force as from 1st February 2016 and applies to cargoes carried under bills of lading issued before the date of entering into force.

IN 32/2015 regulates the procedures for the control and phytosanitary certification of wood packaging material made from raw wood and accompanying import and export consignments with the aim to reduce the risk of introduction and spread of quarantine pests. It is widely based on the Regulation of Wood Packaging Material in International Trade issued by the International Standard for Phytosanitary Measures No. 15 (ISPM No. 15). It adopts the marking standards by the International Plant Protection Convention – IPPC.

We recommend that, as a part of the cargo booking process, shippers are asked to confirm whether the cargo contains wood packaging material and, if so, whether it has been treated and certified according to relevant standards and provided with the appropriate certificates.

Download the full circular here

Back to list

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20009-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337-1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br