Circulars

Problems with ship sanitation certificates (SSCC/SSCEC)


16/05/2016 - 11:19 | Author: Proinde

There has been an increase in vessels facing problems with Brazilian port health authorities in respect of ship sanitation certificates (SSC).

The most frequent cause of problems for vessels obtaining free pratique is the failure to produce a valid SSC that has been issued by an authorised port under the International Health Regulations 2005 (IHR) and is within its period of validity.

If a valid SSC is not produced on demand, or if there is evidence of a public health risk on board, the vessel may be considered as an affected conveyance subject to health measures in which case the granting of the free pratique will be conditioned to the vessel being issued with a new SSC, thereby ensuing delays, extra costs, loss of hire and possibly a fine.

Therefore, vessels calling to Brazil or likely to call to Brazil in the near future should ensure that a valid SSC is on board.

Download the full circular here

Back to list

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20009-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337-1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br