Manuals

Mosquito-borne diseases in Brazil – practical guidance


30/05/2016 - 1:37 | Author: Proinde

Brazil is currently experiencing various outbreaks of mosquito-borne infectious diseases of significant concern to the health of those onboard vessels with potential impact on the safe operation of the vessels, besides the ever-present risk of international spread.

The most significant of the ongoing epidemics are being spread through human-to-vector-to-human contact and the Zika virus is certainly the most worrying outbreak due to the ease of transmission and its association between infected pregnant women and birth defects.

We prepared this handbook with basic information and practical guidance covering the most common mosquito-borne diseases occurring in Brazil that are of significance to shipping, outlining control measures and prevention initiatives that the shipmasters and crews should take to reduce their exposure to health risk.

While this material is not intended to be comprehensive or replace loss prevention material and guidelines issued by P&I Clubs, shipping and international health authorities, we hope it is useful as a source of practical reference to the shipmasters, operators and insurers.

Download the full document here

Back to list

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20009-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337-1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br