GUIDANCE

Stowaways in Brazil – practical guidance and statistical review


28/10/2016 - 9:18 | Author: Proinde

Download the full guide here

As dedicated commercial correspondents and marine surveyors serving P&I clubs and other marine insurance providers in Brazil for more than forty years, we have acquired extensive expertise in handling shipboard stowaway incidents.

Based on hands-on experience, we prepared this handbook with an overview on how stowaways are generally processed in Brazil, the applicable legal regime and the liabilities involved along with practical advice on measures to be taken by the shipmasters and operators to conform to the relevant norms and regulations and bring the cases to a successful resolution. It includes a statistical review of data pulled from files on stowaway incidents our offices attended to on behalf of ship operators and P&I insurers in the past ten years.

We hope it is useful as a practical guide to the shipmasters and operators and as a source of information to assist P&I liability insurers in identifying trends and loss prevention opportunities.

Whenever a stowaway is discovered on board, the Master must always promptly inform the shipowners and the P&I club or correspondent to obtain specific, timely advice on actions to be taken to best manage the situation.

Back to list

Rio Grande


Rua Barão de Cotegipe, 443 - Sala 610 - 96200-290 - Rio Grande/RS - Brazil

Telephone  +55 53 3233 1500
proinde.riogrande@proinde.com.br

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20090-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337 1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

Fortaleza


Rua Osvaldo Cruz, 01, Sala 1408
60125-150 – Fortaleza-CE – Brazil

Telephone  +55 85 3099 4068
proinde.fortaleza@proinde.com.br

Belém/VILA DO CONDE


Tv. Joaquim Furtado, Quadra 314, Lote 01, Sala 206 - 68447-000 – Barcarena, PA – Brazil

Telephone  +55 91 99393 4252
proinde.belem@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br