News

Brazilian Navy’s Statement of Compliance no longer required


31/08/2017 - 1:36 | Author: Proinde

Until recently, all tankers carrying over 200 cubic metres of petroleum or its derivatives as cargo were required to have on board a valid Statement of Compliance for Oil Transport (SOC) issued by the Port Captaincies or Delegacies as agents for the Brazilian maritime authority.

The possession of the SOC was mandated in NORMAM-1 (Maritime Authority Norms for the Operation of Foreign-flagged Vessels in Brazilian Jurisdictional Waters) and NORMAM-4 (Maritime Authority Norms for Vessels Engaged in Open Sea), which are standards issued by the Brazilian Navy’s Directorate of Ports and Coasts (DPC). SOCs were obtainable either through SIRE (OCIMF’s Ship Inspection Report Program) or through a shipboard inspection carried out by the local Port State Control with a validity of 30 days, in the former case, or one year, in the latter case.

Following an agreement with the Brazilian National Agency of Petroleum, Natural Gas and Biofuels (ANP), on 28 August 2017, DPC issued Circular No. 7/2017 informing that, with effect from  1 September 2017, the maritime authority will no longer issue the SOC and, therefore, will no longer perform the corresponding shipboard inspection for this purpose.

View the document (in Portuguese) here

Back to list

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20009-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337-1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br