News

Brazil’s Santos port reduces drafts


30/06/2017 - 7:05 | Author: Proinde

Brazil’s Santos port authority has decided to reduce the drafts on some terminals, including ones operated by a subsidiary of Asian commodities trader Noble Group and sugar trader Copersucar, due to excess sediment, two shipping agencies said on Monday.

The reductions vary from 0.3 to 2 meters, possibly reducing ship loading capacity at the terminals, the agencies said.

Local port authority Codesp, in Santos, had confirmed new drafts at Barnabe Island’s terminal, Noble Agri’s terminal and Copersucar’s terminal.

It was noticed that the maximum allowed draft now on the Noble terminal is 10.10 meters at low tide, from 12.10 meters previously. At Copersucar berths, allowed draft fell to 11.70 at low tide, compared to 12.50 meters before.

The reductions are likely to increase operation costs for the affected terminals.

Brazil is in the peak period for sugar exports and is also shipping large amounts of its second corn crop.

Line-up data shows that four ships with corn and seven with sugar should leave Copersucar’s terminal in the coming days.

At Noble’s terminal, the line-up shows movement of eight ships carrying corn and soymeal.

Back to list

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20009-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337-1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br