Circulars

Crew overstay immigration fines


25/05/2016 - 10:23 | Author: Proinde

Although strict enforcement of temporary visas and allowed stays by the Brazilian immigration authority (Federal Police) is in place after more than a decade, our offices are still seeing cases where vessels and crew have been fined for offences which could be easily avoided.

The situation is experienced in various Brazilian ports but is certainly more prevalent at the Port of Rio de Janeiro where stringent immigration controls are in place.

The crew’s immigration cards are often kept in Master’s safe together with their passports and seaman’s books. It is therefore essential that the Master or a designated officer closely monitors and controls the maximum allowed time of stay and inform the owners and agents of any approaching expiration date so that early action can be taken to avoid deportation notices and fines. Noting that where a crewmember does not hold a visa and is expected to exceed his maximum allowed stay, the vessel’s agents must apply to the Federal Police for an extension of the stay, ideally within a maximum of five days prior to the expiration date, by producing the passport or seaman’s book, the receipt of payment of the extension tax and the application form.

Download the complete circular here

Back to list

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20009-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337-1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br