Circulars

Extensive oil spill in Northeast Brazil and the impact on shipping


11/10/2019 - 7:59 | Author: Proinde

For over one month now, an unprecedented extensive area along the shoreline of Brazil’s Northeast Region has been hit by an oily substance in the form of lumps of black tar, which origin remains unknown.

Substantial oil slicks were first spotted since at least 30 August 2019 and sightings were reported to federal authorities from 2 September 2019, but it was only weeks later they realised that the pollution was widespread and gradually reached the entire shoreline along the northeastern coast of the South Atlantic Ocean, heading south.

All the nine states of Brazil’s Northeast have been reached by the oil spill in the course of recent weeks. The affected area spans over 1,370 nautical miles across sandy beaches, mangroves, reefs, and rocky coasts and varied fauna and flora, extending from Cururupu in the state of Maranhão to Arempebe in Bahia soon to reach the metropolitan area of Salvador, Northeast’s largest city, and beyond.

Download our Circular here to learn more about the area affected, origin and nature of the oil, official investigations underway and the impact on shipping.

Back to list

Rio Grande


Rua Barão de Cotegipe, 443 - Sala 610 - 96200-290 - Rio Grande/RS - Brazil

Telephone  +55 53 3233 1500
proinde.riogrande@proinde.com.br

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20090-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337 1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

Fortaleza


Rua Osvaldo Cruz, 01, Sala 1408
60125-150 – Fortaleza-CE – Brazil

Telephone  +55 85 3099 4068
proinde.fortaleza@proinde.com.br

Belém/VILA DO CONDE


Tv. Joaquim Furtado, Quadra 314, Lote 01, Sala 206 - 68447-000 – Barcarena, PA – Brazil

Telephone  +55 91 99393 4252
proinde.belem@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br