Circulars

Ratification of sea protest before the Brazilian authorities


30/08/2016 - 10:08 | Author: Proinde

Under Brazilian Law, a sea carrier may be exempted from liability for cargo loss or damage if an inherent vice, a fortuitous case or force majeure (Act of God) is established.

Unlike other jurisdictions where a note of sea protest tendered by the vessel’s command due to heavy weather or any other atypical occurrence produces legal effects simply by registering the document in a public notary’s office, in Brazil the carrier can only invoke the occurrence of fortuity/force majeure as a valid exclusion of liability if the sea protest is ratified by the competent judicial authority.

In this circular, we provide a brief explanation of the legal statutes governing the matter, the material and procedural requirements and our recommendations.

Download the document here

Back to list

Rio Grande


Rua Barão de Cotegipe, 443 - Sala 610 - 96200-290 - Rio Grande/RS - Brazil

Telephone  +55 53 3233 1500
proinde.riogrande@proinde.com.br

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20090-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337 1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

Fortaleza


Rua Osvaldo Cruz, 01, Sala 1408
60125-150 – Fortaleza-CE – Brazil

Telephone  +55 85 3099 4068
proinde.fortaleza@proinde.com.br

Belém/VILA DO CONDE


Tv. Joaquim Furtado, Quadra 314, Lote 01, Sala 206 - 68447-000 – Barcarena, PA – Brazil

Telephone  +55 91 99393 4252
proinde.belem@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br