GUIDANCE

Stowaways in Brazil – Practical Guidance


07/08/2020 - 2:18 | Author: Proinde

The number of stowaways arriving at Brazilian ports has reduced drastically in recent years, possibly due to a combination of enhanced ship security and pre-departure searches with changes in commercial shipping patterns.

Despite the drop in the number of cases, the potential threats stowaways pose remain the same, while the costs associated with their identification and repatriation has increased substantially, as many people are now stowing away for a living. Shipowners and ship operators should continue to invest in resources to prevent illegal boarding, especially in ports known to be hotspots for stowaways.

When prevention is no longer possible, whenever a stowaway is discovered, the master must always immediately inform shipowner and the P&I club or correspondent to obtain specific and timely advice on actions to be taken to better manage the situation and report to the local authorities.

As P&I correspondents serving in Brazilian ports for nearly half a century, we prepared this guide with an overview on how stowaways incidents are handled in Brazil, the legal regime, and measures to be taken to bring the case to a successful resolution.

We hope our clients and associates will avail of this publication as a useful source of reference and shall endeavour to keep an up-to-date version available for free download on this website.

Back to list

Rio Grande


Rua Barão de Cotegipe, 443 - Sala 610 - 96200-290 - Rio Grande/RS - Brazil

Telephone  +55 53 3233 1500
proinde.riogrande@proinde.com.br

Main Office | Santos


Rua Itororó, 3 - 3rd floor
11010-071 - Santos, SP - Brazil

Telephone +55 13 4009 9550
proinde@proinde.com.br

Rio de janeiro


Av. Rio Branco, 45 - sala 2402
20090-003 - Rio de Janeiro, RJ - Brazil

Telephone  +55 21 2253 6145
proinde.rio@proinde.com.br

VITORIA


Rua Professor Elpidio Pimentel, 320 sala 401 - 29065-060 – Vitoria, ES – Brazil

Telephone: +55 27 3337 1178
proinde.vitoria@proinde.com.br

SALVADOR


Rua Miguel Calmon, 19 - sala 702 - 40015-010 – Salvador, BA – Brazil

Telephone: +55 71 3242 3384
proinde.salvador@proinde.com.br

RECIFE


Av. Visconde de Jequitinhonha, 209 - sala 402 - 51021-190 - Recife, PE - Brazil

Telephone  +55 81 3328 6414
proinde.recife@proinde.com.br

Fortaleza


Rua Osvaldo Cruz, 01, Sala 1408
60125-150 – Fortaleza-CE – Brazil

Telephone  +55 85 3099 4068
proinde.fortaleza@proinde.com.br

Belém/VILA DO CONDE


Tv. Joaquim Furtado, Quadra 314, Lote 01, Sala 206 - 68447-000 – Barcarena, PA – Brazil

Telephone  +55 91 99393 4252
proinde.belem@proinde.com.br

MANAUS


Av. Dr. Theomario Pinto da Costa, 811 - sala 204 - 69050-055 - Manaus, AM - Brazil

Telephone  +55 92 3307-0653
proinde.manaus@proinde.com.br